Skip to content

Shamrock Shuffle 4 Week 8k Training Plan

March 16, 2011

As promised, here’s a look at my training plan for the Shamrock Shuffle 8k:

This is a screenshot of my Google Docs spreadsheet.  I made it public so you can follow along if you’d like and hold me accountable!  I’ll update it and cross off workouts as I finish them.

I based it on Hal Higdon’s 9 week novice 8k training plan.  Since I just trained for a 5k, and I only have ~4 weeks left until the Shamrock Shuffle, I felt comfortable picking up on week 5 of that plan.

I modified it a bit, too, because I like doing yoga 3x/week. Fridays are supposed to be “rest” days, but I love my Friday morning yoga class, so I may take rest days as needed on Mondays, Wednesdays, or Saturdays if I feel like I need them.

I took a rest day today (Wednesday) because I am feeling under the weather.  I have no idea how I eeked out a run yesterday, because today even going up the stairs to put clothes in the washer made me winded.  I am hoping that I will feel a lot better tomorrow morning!

Do you make/use training plans for upcoming races?  Do you have any advice for a newbie runner?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

