Skip to content

A Boozy Science Experiment – Part I

February 12, 2011

Some of my grad school friends are hosting a martini-themed cocktail party next weekend. Ssince we’re all grad students on a budget, it’s a potluck-style party, and they’ve asked guests to bring either mixers or liquor.  Since I never can do things the easy/normal way, I immediately started brainstorming about fun drinks I could bring.  After some Googling, I came up with the idea of making infused vodka.

I decided to make a batch of pineapple-infused vodka and a batch of vanilla-infused vodka, mainly because I found a great deal on vanilla beans at Costco while I was buying a pineapple and a bottle of vodka.

For the pineapple-infused vodka, I used this simple recipe.  I cut a pineapple into small chunks and covered with somewhere between 500-750 ML vodka (I didn’t measure, just filled the pitcher).  My quick Google research revealed that it should take 7-10 days to reach its maximum flavor, so it should be ready by the party next week.  I wasn’t sure if I needed to refrigerate it, but I’d rather be on the safe side so I put it in the back of the fridge.

For the vanilla-infused vodka, the general consensus of teh internets seemed to be that you should use 1 vanilla bean (split in half lengthwise) per 500-750 ML of vodka, so that’s what I did.  There’s no consensus on how long to leave it, though; some sites said 3-4 days, some said up to a month.  I’ll taste-test it in a few days and go from there.

Check back next week and I’ll let you know how they turned out!

I also have 6 vanilla beans left and about 1/2 liter of vodka left.  Neither of us are big drinkers, so I have a feeling the vodka is going to sit in the cupboard unless we have a party!  The vanilla beans seem much more likely to get used, though – if you have any recipes that use them, I’d love it if you’d share them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

