Skip to content

One Healthy Decision Leads to Another

February 8, 2011

There’s a commercial that’s on TV a lot (I think it’s for Nutrigrain bars) where the theme is “one healthy decision leads to another.”  Though whether eating a Nutrigrain bar is a “healthy decision” is certainly debatable, I’ve found that this slogan rings true for me.

I’m 1.5 days into the Vegan for a Week challenge, and so far it’s going really well. One thing I’ve already noticed is that this challenge has made me a lot more conscious with my food choices.  On busy days like today, I often run to the coffee shop next to my office and drop $5-7 on a cappuccino and a scone or muffin to hold me over until lunch.   Since I was not sure whether any of their offerings were vegan (and I dislike soy milk), I planned ahead today and brought my own coffee and snacks from home.   I saved some money, and the food I packed was a lot healthier than a scone or muffin.

Focusing on this challenge has also motivated me to get back on track with working out.   I didn’t get my planned treadmill run/walk  in last night because of poor planning, so I got up extra early this morning and did it.  I really like the Tuesday night class at the yoga studio I go to, so I am still going to go to it tonight.  I think it should be a good compliment to my run – lots of stretching and hip-openers!

A glimpse at  few meals from the past 1.5 days:

Dinner last night – tofu and vegetable stir-fry with peanut sauce (I substituted orange juice for water in Emily’s peanut sauce recipe to give it a slightly sweet-and-sour flavor).  It was delicious!

This morning’s breakfast – Ezekiel raisin bread with almond butter + a tangerine.  This is my favorite breakfast even when I’m not eating vegan.

Part of today’s lunch (I also had leftover stir fry from last night): spinach salad with orange segments, pepitas and Annie’s pomegranate dressing (something about this tasted a little “off” – I think the spinach was past its prime)

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 4:25 pm

    i’m so glad your first 1.5 days of the vegan challenge have gone so well! 🙂 hooray for healthy decisions!

Leave a Reply

