Skip to content

Grocery Shopping for Vegan for a Week: My Fridge Runneth Over!

February 6, 2011

(I’m participating in the Vegan for a Week/#7dayvegan Challenge – for more on how I plan to approach the challenge, see this post.)

This afternoon, I spent about an hour putting together a vegan meal plan for the coming week.  I went through my cupboards and refrigerator and was surprised to realize I had a lot of vegan products and ingredients on hand already.  I made a grocery list for the items I still need, then went shopping:

There’s more produce not pictured: baby spinach, onions, baby potatoes, sweet potatoes, garlic, and more baby carrots, oranges, and apples.  These are all fruits and vegetables I buy normally, but I bought them in larger quantities than usual since most of my meals will be vegetable-based.

I was really happy to find out my favorite bread was vegan!  I am kind of addicted to Ezekiel raisin bread – I eat it for breakfast at least 3-4 times a week.

These are the only items I bought that were out of the ordinary for me.  I’m going to use the coconut milk in my coffee and oatmeal in place of regular cow’s milk.  The cherry amaretto coconut dessert was a (delicious) impulse buy, as was the dark chocolate.  (I am 99% sure it’s vegan… but need to look it up to make sure.  If not, I will save it for a week.)

I was surprised to find out (via Twitter) that not all wine and beer are vegan.   Several people pointed the #7dayvegan challengers to Barnivore.com, which listed Botham Vineyards (a Southern Wisconsin winery) as vegan-friendly, so of course I felt obliged to try it.  🙂

To my surprise, even with the extra produce and splurging on a bottle of wine, my groceries for this week actually ended up a little less expensive than usual.  With my refrigerator bursting with fresh produce and my cupboards full of vegan-friendly foods, I feel pretty good about starting this challenge tomorrow morning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

