Skip to content

Vegan for a Week Challenge

February 4, 2011

Morgan at Life After Bagels is hosting a Vegan For a Week challenge starting on Monday, February 7 and I’ve decided to join in.  (Thanks Sarah for bringing it to my attention.)  From Monday through Sunday of this coming week, I will try to eat vegan (no animal products, including dairy and eggs.)  I think this challenge will be a great time to try new recipes and ingredients and to reflect on my dietary choices.  I know it won’t be easy–particularly since I live in the land of cheese–but I think it will be a fun and fascinating challenge.

Here’s my plan to prepare for and engage in the challenge:

This weekend (pre-challenge):

  • Go through my cupboards and refrigerator and figure out what I have on hand already that’s already vegan.
  • Try to use up and/or properly store things that aren’t vegan so that this challenge doesn’t result in wasted food.
  • Make a meal plan for the week:
    • I will definitely be looking for recipes on sites like Peas and Thank You (Mama Pea just launched a weekly vegan meal plan series!), Oh She Glows, the Daily Garnish, and Love Veggies and Yoga
    • I may buy a vegan cookbook or two at Barnes and Noble (cookbooks = big weakness of mine!)
    • If you have any ideas for recipes, sites, or cookbooks, please let me know!
  • Grocery shop on Sunday night

During the Challenge (Monday, February 7-Sunday, February 13)

  • Try to eat vegan from Monday morning through Sunday  night.
  • Blog daily about what I ate during the challenge (probably not every meal, but at least a snapshot of one meal a day).
  • Join in on the discussion via Twitter tag #7dayvegan

After the Challenge:

  • Reflect on and blog about what I learned during the challenge

Is anyone else joining in?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2011 3:03 pm

    YAY! so glad you are doing the vegan challenge! becoming vegan has CHANGED my life- i hope you enjoy it!

    • February 6, 2011 8:47 pm

      Thank you! I thought it would be really hard, but after making a meal plan and grocery shopping, it seems a little easier!

Trackbacks

  1. Grocery Shopping for Vegan for a Week: My Fridge Runneth Over! « Teach, Write, Cook

Leave a Reply

