Skip to content

Snow Day!

February 3, 2011

The university canceled classes yesterday and the roads were practically impassable until mid-afternoon, so Brian and I enjoyed an
unexpected day off together.

Our apartment complex has a small gym in the main building that’s about a block away from our apartment, so we thought we’d walk there when we woke up to get a nice workout in. I looked out around 11 am and saw this:

The footprints looked pretty deep, and they trailed off a few feet past the edge of this picture, as if someone had just given up, turned around, and walked back to their apartment. Then I realized the snowman that someone had built a few weeks ago (which is roughly person-sized) was up to his torso in snow.  (It also looks like he’s yelling for help, which makes me laugh!)

A few hours later, I heard the joyous sound of a snow blower and looked out to see this guy struggling to uncover the sidewalk inch-by-inch:

On days like yesterday, the convenience of not having to shovel/snowblow/curse the 17 inches of snow that was drifting as high as 4-6 feet in some places totally makes up for all of the inconveniences of apartment living!

When we finally made it to the workout room around 2:30, it was PACKED!!  I guess many of our neighbors decided to take advantage of their day off by working out, too!  I did about 10 minutes on the elliptical while I waited for a treadmill to free up, then did 40 minutes of walking/running intervals.  I was slower and got more winded than before I got sick, but it was SO NICE to be able to finish a workout.

I am REALLY looking forward to yoga tonight!  It’s been 2 weeks since I last practiced, and I have been missing it so badly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 4:39 pm

    hooray for a great snow day workout! i wish my apartment had a gym…

    • February 3, 2011 8:17 pm

      I really love that our apartment has a gym, but it isn’t super-great – only 3 treadmills which are often full. I try to work out at weird times (like 10 am) when I know other people are at work so I can make sure to get a treadmill.

Leave a Reply

