Skip to content

Cranberry Orange Oatmeal Cookie Dough Balls

January 30, 2011

After buying (delicious!) baked goods at the coffee shop next to my office twice last week, I realized I need to come up with some healthier sweet snacks to take with me on days when I’m on campus all day.  Inspired by Mama Pea’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls and Averie’s 5 Minute Raw Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, I came up with:

Cranberry Orange Oatmeal Cookie Dough Balls

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup nuts (pecans, almonds, and/or cashews would work well)
  • 4-6 medjool dates, pitted and quartered
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 tsp orange zest
  • 1/8 tsp almond extract (optional)

I put the oats into my mini food processor and processed them until they were coarsely ground:

Then, I added the nuts and processed them until they made a coarse, sandy mixture:

I added the dates, cranberries, orange zest, and almond extract and processed until they were well incorporated into the “dough.”

At this point, though the mixture will look like wet, grainy sand, you should be able to condense it into dough balls with your fingers.  If it won’t stick together, try adding another date and processing until it’s well-incorporated into the dough.

This recipe made 8 small (tablespoon-sized) dough balls.  With the ingredients I used, I calculated that each ball has about 86 calories.  They’re pretty calorie-dense, but that’s what I wanted because I want to be able to take one or two and eat them as an afternoon snack.

(There are only 7 dough balls in this picture, because I ate one before I took it.  They were too good not to try!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 9:58 pm

    they look great!

    i have a recipe for dark choc cherry balls, too. i think cherries or cranberries are great in desserts! clearly, you came up with a winner 🙂

    • January 31, 2011 3:44 pm

      Thanks! I will have to try the dark chocolate cherry balls, too! I just organized my pantry cupboard and I found a bag of dried cherries, too!

  2. January 30, 2011 11:41 pm

    Those look great!

Leave a Reply

