Skip to content

Obsessed: Roasted Broccoli with Colorful Potatoes

January 28, 2011

A confession:  up until two weeks ago, I hated broccoli.  HATED. I am a BIG texture eater, and something about the texture of raw and steamed broccoli has always grossed me out. I have tried many times to like it, because it’s full of nutrients.  (Did you know that one cup of broccoli has only 43 calories, but contains about twice the recommended daily value of vitamins C and K, and is also a good source of folate, vitamin A, iron, riboflavin, and even Omega-3s?  Add in almost 5 grams of fiber, and it’s a nutritional powerhouse!)

About two weeks ago, on a whim, I Googled “broccoli recipe for broccoli haters.”  Several different results pointed me to the Barefoot Contessa’s Parmesan-Roasted Broccoli. I made it, and, to my surprise, I loved it.  The broccoli was crunchy on the outside, tender on the inside, and it was delicious!

Since that first attempt at the recipe, I have been craving broccoli.   I’ve gone through two 12-ounce bags of pre-prepped broccoli from Trader Joe’s in two weeks, and I keep dreaming up new ways to eat roasted broccoli. After playing with different combination of vegetables, I think my favorite combination is:

Roasted Broccoli with Colorful Potatoes

Adapted from Ina Garten’s Parmesan-Roasted Broccoli


Makes 2 side-dish servings, or 1 entree-sized serving

  • 2.5 cups broccoli florets, trimmed into small pieces
  • 4 small potatoes (I love Trader Joe’s that combines red, yellow, and purple baby potatoes), sliced into 1/2 inch thick rounds
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil (or oil of your choice)
  • juice of half a lemon (~1/2 tablespoon)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • optional: grated parmesan cheese or 4-cheese Italian blend

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. In a small bowl or directly on baking sheet, toss broccoli florets and potato rounds with olive oil.  Spread out evenly in a single layer on a baking sheet.   Sprinkle with salt.

Roast for 20-25 minutes until broccoli is brown and crispy but not burnt, and potatoes are soft with a slight golden crust.

After removing from oven, toss with lemon juice and salt + pepper to taste.  (Feel free to add a little more olive oil, too.)  If desired, top with cheese.  Eat, get addicted, make every night, dream about it, go to broccoli rehab.

Leave a comment