Skip to content

Green Slime Sludge

January 27, 2011

I apologize for being so absent from blogging lately.  Right after I got back from my relaxing weekend trip to my hometown, I got sick.  I think I caught the virus was making my adorable little niece miserable.  (Did I mention that while I played with her, she stuck her hands in my mouth repeatedly, sneezed in my face, and tried to feed me a gooey, half-eaten cracker?  Hmmm…  I wonder how I got sick?)   I *think* I am finally getting better now, but it’s been a rough few days.

Though my “comfort foods” when I’m sick have always been saltines, Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup, and ginger ale or 7-Up, I figured highly processed white flour, extreme amounts of sodium,  gross processed chicken pieces, and lots of high fructose corn syrup was probably not the best thing I could eat while my body tries to get over this virus.  (Plus, scratchy saltines HURT on a sore throat.)

Enter the Green Slime Sludge Smoothie.  Soothing on my sore throat, delicious (really!) and full of good-for-me nutrients, but also weird enough to satisfy my inner child:

 

In the mix: vanilla almond milk and orange juice as a base, a few handfuls of baby spinach, a tablespoon of chia seeds (added for Omega-3s, plus the cool sludgy gelification factor), half a frozen banana cut in chunks, frozen mango chunks, and frozen pineapple chunks.

It tasted really tropical, which is great on this snowy winter morning when I wish I were on a beach somewhere much warmer than Wisconsin. (Though the coldness of it did mean I had to put on an extra sweater…)

If you’ve never had a smoothie made with baby spinach, you need to try it!  If you add banana, you really can’t taste the spinach, and it’s a great way to get an entire salad’s worth of greens into a small cup.  Check out the Green Monster Movement for lots of great recipes for green smoothies.

On a side note, did anyone else love Ecto Cooler when they were little?

I’m not even sure if the actual Ecto Cooler was green (it was lemon-orange flavored), but because it was Slimer’s favorite drink, I was humming the Ghost Busters theme song while blending this up!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 5:26 pm

    i’m glad your *hopefully* feeling better! i’ve been LOOOOOOVING smoothies lately and i use chia seeds in mine too! 🙂

    i don’t remember that ecto cooler (and i’ve never seen ghostbusters!).

Trackbacks

  1. Getting Back on Track: Weekly Workout Plan « Teach, Write, Cook

Leave a Reply

