Skip to content

Weekend, unplugged

January 24, 2011

After my hectic week of writing, I spent the weekend in my hometown with my family.  I spent Friday and part of Saturday at my sister’s house.  I went down to spend time with my adorable nephew and niece, and to help my sister out because her husband was gone for the weekend and her one-year-old was sick.

I spent hours doing art projects with my 4 1/2 year old nephew, Sam.    We painted with water colors, made masks out of construction paper, made a 15-foot-long paper chain, created “fossils” by stamping toy dinosaur feet in Play Doh… he is very creative!   I played a little with my niece, Claire, but because she was sick and crabby, she mostly wanted to be held by her mama.  After the kids went to bed, I had a great time catching up with my sister over a glass of wine.

I was originally planning to drive back to Madison on Saturday afternoon, but I got talked into going out to dinner with my aunt, uncle, cousins, grandmother, and mom at a great little local Mexican restaurant (I didn’t need much convincing).   After excellent conversation, great food, a margarita, and a complimentary tiny shot of almond-flavored tequila, I was not in the mood to drive home!

So, I ended up staying at my aunt and uncle’s house in their gorgeous guest bedroom.  The guest bed had a heated mattress pad that was heavenly!  When I woke up yesterday morning, I made the mistake of checking the weather on my phone while I was still in bed and it was -12 degrees (F) outside!  I did NOT want to get out of the toasty warm bed.  I am definitely going to look into getting a heated mattress pad for my bed–it kept me incredibly warm all night.  (Which is saying something, because I am ALWAYS cold.)

I didn’t take my laptop along on my impromptu weekend trip, so other than checking my e-mail, Twitter, and Facebook on my phone a few times, I had a relatively unplugged weekend.  After staring at my computer screen for hours upon hours each day last week, it was really nice to take a break from it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 9:48 pm

    sometimes you just need an unplugged weekend. i hope you feel refreshed! 🙂

    • January 25, 2011 7:49 am

      thanks! 🙂 i do feel refreshed – which is good because today’s my first real day of TA-ing.

Leave a Reply

