Skip to content

First Dates + Hardcore Beer

January 15, 2011

(No, not together.  Though that would be really interesting!)

I had a lot of writing to do this afternoon to meet my deadline (I promised my dissertation director I’d turn in a draft of a chapter to her by this coming Thursday – eeeeek!), so my fiance and I went to a coffee shop to work on our respective projects and re-caffeinate.   Unfortunately, I am extremely distractable when there are conversations going on around me, and there was a fascinatingly awkward first date happening about six inches behind me the entire time we were there.  So, I got very little work done, but came up with a handy list of pointers for first dates:

  • Don’t wear a Packers jersey on a first date.  Yes, I know they’re in the playoffs, but it’s really awkward when you show up in a Packers jersey and jeans and your date shows up in a nice button-down shirt and dress pants.
  • Don’t wear a nice button-down shirt and dress pants to a first date in a casual coffee shop.  Yes, I know you want to look nice, but but it’s really awkward when you show up in a nice button-down shirt and dress pants and your date shows up in a Packers jersey and jeans.
  • Don’t tell your date that you gave up on learning X subject in middle school because it has “no practical value in the real world,” when she just told you she’s in her sixth year of a Ph.D. program studying X subject.
  • Don’t tell your date about your parents’ difficult divorce.  Especially not in intimate detail.
  • And, whatever you do, don’t sit so close to the curly-haired woman pretending to be really engrossed in a blank Microsoft Word document.  She’s totally eavesdropping on your conversation.

Then again, why should you listen to me?  I ordered a local beer (Ale Asylum Ambergeddon) beer at dinner tonight because I was in a rare beer mood (I’m usually wine drinker), and when it came, it looked like this:

Look a little closer:

I’m hardcore, man.

(For the record, it was actually quite good, and it made me feel like a total bad ass.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 11:53 am

    lol, this is a great post! i’m really bad about eavesdropping on conversations in coffee shops too. that was a great one to catch though! 🙂 and i love ale asylum! good choice.

    • January 16, 2011 1:28 pm

      I know – I am so bad about it. I need to remember to bring head phones with me when I work in coffee shops so I don’t get so distracted! I really liked the Ambergeddon, but the bottle made everyone at our table laugh, particularly since I had been debating between the beer and a super-girly pink raspberry drink.

  2. January 17, 2011 6:23 am

    Hahaha! I love people watching too. Definitely sounds like an interesting date to spy on. I so would have been doing the same.

Leave a Reply

