Skip to content

Learning to Listen to my Body

January 14, 2011

From Tuesday to Thursday, I just felt off. I felt tired, achy, congested… not quite sick, but like I might be coming down with something.   All I really wanted to do was to join Rilo & Alexander in sleeping all day:

But I had work to do and meetings to attend.   I eeked out a workout on Tuesday, but it wasn’t my best effort.  I had planned to go to yoga on Wednesday and to do W3D2 of Couch to 10K on Thursday, but I skipped both workouts because I wasn’t feeling well.  I was kind of beating myself up over it, feeling like I was being lazy because I wasn’t really even sick.

This morning, I woke up feeling so much better.  I’ve had a lot more  energy and almost all of the congestion seems to have gone away.  I realized that I probably was getting sick this week, but by resting and not pushing myself too hard, I was able to fight it off.  Instead of being hard on myself for missing workouts, I’m now happy with myself for knowing my limits and letting my body rest when it needed it.

I did Week 3, Day 2 of Couch to 10K this afternoon and rocked it.   I felt really strong and was able to do the 90-second running intervals without much trouble.   I accidentally left my iPhone at home, so I was worried  that I’d get bored and unmotivated without the audio book to keep me occupied.  But, there was something really satisfying about watching the mileage add up on the treadmill as I walked and ran my way through an hours’ worth of cable news (confession: I am an MSNBC junkie).  I went about 4.1 miles today, with 42 minutes of walking and 15 minutes of running altogether.  Something I really like about the Couch to 10k program is that since I have already surpassed 3.12 miles, so I am confident that in 2 months* I really will be able to complete the Madison Shamrock Shuffle 5K, and in 3 months I’ll be able to run the 8k Shamrock Shuffle in Chicago.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

