Skip to content

Weekend Project: The Mess Part I

January 9, 2011

As a graduate student working on a dissertation, I work from home most of the time.  Lately, I’ve found myself working not from my spacious desk in our upstairs office/guest bedroom, but from the couch and cramped coffee table in the living room.  It’s not only hard on my neck and back to hunch over my laptop at the coffee table, but I tend to leave behind an unsightly of  pile of library books, notepads, post-its, and coffee mugs that make our small living room look even more cluttered.

So, you’re asking, why don’t I work from my desk?  Because it looks like this:

Random cat interlude: On the white board is a picture of  Alexander, one of my two cats, when he was a kitten.   He’s a big 3 year-old cat now, but he still loves sticking his whole face into pictures:

Anyway, since my desk is upstairs and out of the main living area, it’s become a receptacle for all sorts of stuff –a monitor and keyboard that I no longer use thanks to a new large-screen laptop, piles of  papers from the end-of-semester rush, books that need to be returned to the library, a bag full of nail polish (??), assorted cat toys, you get the picture.  It actually looks a lot neater than usual in this picture because I’d straightened out the piles on it a few days earlier.

As I took this picture on Friday, I realized in a panic I needed to close the door to the storage closet next to my desk because I’d be horrified to accidentally get a glimpse of the chaos inside it in my desk pictures.   I spent all day Friday thinking about The Mess inside that closet.  The weird amalgamation of stuff that threatened to blow the hinges off the door:

(Out-of-season clothes, craft supplies, workout gear, and other random objects.  I won’t even try to explain how it got like this. . .)

I literally dreamed about The Mess on Friday night.  I woke up on Saturday and realized there was no way I’d be able to work productively from my desk this week if I sat there eyeing The Mess the whole time.   So, I decided that since I was going to clean off my desk, I might as well clean out the closet, too.  No big deal, right?  I figured it’d only take me a few hours…

*Cue ominous music*

{To be continued…}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 9:55 pm

    haha, i love that you gave ‘the mess’ its own identity! good luck attacking that.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Project Part II: Mission Accomplished « Teach, Write, Cook

Leave a Reply

