Skip to content

Will Run for Green (Beer)

January 7, 2011

Confession time:  these are my running shoes:

Despite the fact that they are still pristinely white, they’re not brand new.  They’re almost two years old!  I could pretend the reason they’re still in such great shape is because I’m really meticulous about keeping them clean.  Or because I only run inside on a treadmill.  Since this is a confession, though, I’ll tell you the real reason:  I’ve hardly used them.  I bought them almost 2 years ago when I was convinced I was going to run a 5k in the spring (sound familiar?), but dropped off about halfway through the Couch to 5k program and never really wore them again.

So, I am determined to do things differently this time!  I keep reading that the best way to motivate yourself to stick to a training program is to register for a specific run.  For a few weeks, I’ve been thinking about registering 5k so that I have something to motivate me in training – a real, tangible goal to work toward instead of a hypothetical “someday I’ll run a 5k” goal.

So, in typical Amy style, I went a little crazy and registered for both a 5k AND an 8k today!

I already had the Madison Shamrock Shuffle, which is March 13, in mind when I made my New Year’s resolutions.  It goes through downtown Madison, so it should be an interesting and fun run, though it may be really cold!

A good friend (and one of my maids-of-honor) who is a more experienced runner has been trying to get me to train for a run with her for a while.  Thankfully, she’s persistent!   She runs the Chicago Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8K every year, and she encouraged me to register with her.  It’s later than usual this year (April 10), but that will hopefully means it won’t be slushy like it was in 2009!

So – two runs about a month apart, but they’re both Shamrock Shuffles. Weird, huh?

To prepare, I downloaded the Couch to 10k app to my iPhone.  It lets you listen to your own music, audiobook, or podcast, and it interrupts to tell you when to run and walk.  I’ve made it through week 2 so far, and it is going really well.  It’s 13 weeks long, which means I should be finishing it right around the time of the 8k.  Even if I’m not quite up to running a full 8k at that point, I think I can make it through by taking walking breaks.

I’m running inside on a treadmill for now, since it’s been cold and snowy lately, but I’m looking forward to slightly warmer weather so I can get outside and dirty up those shoes!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    January 8, 2011 10:41 am

    i’ve never heard of that app but it sounds awesome! good luck with your running goals – maybe i should register for the madison shamrock shuffle too. i do have “run a 5k” on my 2011 goals! 🙂

    • January 8, 2011 2:17 pm

      So far I really like the app – totally worth the $3 I paid for it. The same company also has a Couch to 5k app, too! If you decide to register for the Shamrock Shuffle, let me know! It looks like a lot of fun from the pictures I’ve seen – lots of costumes and a nice route through downtown.

Leave a Reply

