Skip to content

Silencing My Inner Perfectionist

January 6, 2011

I’ve been thinking about starting a healthy living blog for about six months, but I never had the courage to take the risk and actually start a blog until this week.   All sorts of negative thoughts have stopped me:

  • “I don’t know if I have anything interesting or new to say.”
  • “I won’t be able to think of a clever, but not too clever, name for my blog.”
  • “No one but my mom will read it.”
  • “I’m not an expert at anything health or fitness related.”
  • “I don’t know if I can come up with exciting recipes.”
  • “My lifestyle isn’t really all that healthy…”
  • “My digital camera is old and I don’t know anything about photography.”
  • “I am just starting to get into running and working out. Who will want to read about me being able to run for five minutes without stopping when other people are training for their fourth marathon?”
  • And so on and so on.

Before I had even taken any steps toward starting a blog, the grating voice of my inner perfectionist kept giving me reasons not to even start.   It’s that voice that says, “If you can’t do it perfectly, why even try?”

I am shutting down that voice, and trying to find my own voice.

For the past few days, I have been looking back through the blogs I really admire (the whole year-in-review meme is really helping with this) and I’ve realized that a lot of these bloggers started out just like me:  unsure, self-conscious, with totally un-fancy digital cameras (or none at all), no readers, and, often, with little or no background in health, food, or fitness.  They each took the initial risk of starting a blog, then worked hard to steadily maintain and improve their blogs.  And it seems that in the process, for so many of them, their blogs did the same for them; blogging improved their lives by empowering them to take bigger risks, pursue new goals, make new friends and contacts, and find what really made them happy.

I will never have a perfect blog, but at least now I’ve taken the first step– the first big risk–and now have a blog.

A few highlights of the posts that have really helped me put things in perspective:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    January 7, 2011 12:18 pm

    i’m not your mom and you now have at least one loyal reader! 🙂 i’m excited that you’re a fellow uw grad student too!

    we can be rookie bloggers together.

Leave a Reply

