Skip to content

Back in Action & Madison Shamrock Shuffle

March 15, 2011

I apologize for my month-long absence!  It’s finally Spring Break, which means I am digging out from the grading-researching-writing-protesting hole I’ve been living in for the past few weeks and getting back to blogging.  I will need to do a better job making time for blogging once school starts again next week, because I really miss it.

Madison Shamrock Shuffle

On Sunday, I ran the Madison Shamrock Shuffle 5k with three great friends who came to Madison to run it with me.  Though we had very different levels of training – one friend runs regularly, I have been training since January (though I’d taken a few unexpected breaks due to getting sick twice this winter), and the other two had not trained at all – we decided it would be the most fun if we stuck together for the entire run.  I’m proud to report that despite two huge and daunting hills at the beginning and end of the run, we made it across the finish line holding hands.   (I am impatiently waiting for the “official” photos to go up online – I want that picture, darnit!) We certainly didn’t set any speed records–we were even passed by some of the elite 10k runners at the finish line–but we had fun and we finished!

Sweaty, but happy! (I’m on the left, #1677.)

The backs of our homemade shirts said “I wish I’d trained for this…” which got us lots of funny comments!

 

The night before the run, I was feeling VERY anxious and unsure about it.  I hadn’t trained as much as I wanted to train, I was feeling pretty sluggish and dehydrated (blame it on a fun Friday night out until 3 am with the same friends), and I was sure I wasn’t going to make it up the hill.  I woke up the next morning and felt a little better.   Putting on my goofy green shorts ($7 in the girls’ section at Target), shamrock pins, and silly t-shirt certainly helped.  So did peanut butter toast for breakfast.

 

After we got to the starting line and I saw tons of little kids and people in very unwieldy costumes, I thought, “Okay, if they can do it, I can do this!”  The first half mile or so was really hard.  I  felt like there was no way I was going to be able to make it another 2.6 miles.  Then, before I knew it, we were at mile marker #1 and I had found a (sloooow) rhythm.  Then we were at marker #2.  Then we were back at the hill–everyone else groaned, but I was secretly happy because I knew this meant we were almost finished!   Then we were at marker #3 and back on State Street with the finish line in sight.  The next thing I knew, we were running through the finish line holding hands!

I am very excited to jump into training for my second Shamrock Shuffle:  the Chicago Shamrock Shuffle 8k, which has roughly 20 times more runners than the Madison one!  Look for a post later today or tomorrow morning about my training schedule.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 12:54 pm

    welcome back!! :) congrats on the race! it looks like you guys had fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

