Skip to content

Day 3: Getting Over the Hump

February 10, 2011

Yesterday was the hardest day of the Vegan for a Week challenge so far; I mostly just felt out of ideas and was craving something satisfying, but didn’t feel like cooking.  I wanted to give up and just order take-out, but I ended up sticking it out and making a simple and easy pasta salad with spinach, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and Italian herbs.

 

I originally planned to make the base out of quinoa, but whole wheat bow-tie pasta sounded a lot better last night.

Today is going better.  I ran this morning, which always makes me feel better!   For lunch, I mixed the chickpea mixture and the pasta and added extra olive oil, so I ate it as cold pasta salad today – it was even better than last night, because the flavors had a chance to merge more.

I need to eat a good snack before I head to campus for afternoon meetings; I know from experience that when I run in the morning, I end up STARVING around 3 pm.  I’m thinking an apple with almond butter before I leave home, plus some “emergency” homemade trail mix in my purse will do the trick.

I’m planning on making black bean burgers with sweet potato fries tonight for dinner; I am really looking forward to them!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 3:12 pm

    love pasta salad. that looks deliciously satisfying! :)

    i made black bean burgers (mama pea’s – they were so good!) and regular potato “fries” last night for dinner. we seriously are meal twins this week!

  2. February 10, 2011 7:53 pm

    Oh my gosh, how funny. We apparently have very similar taste! I would have made regular fries (I like them better!) but forgot to buy non-sweet potatoes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

